Tag Archives: Aram Montagut Garcia

1st Impro Jam @ Nocturna Discordia

names for the random groups at the 1st Impro Jam - Nocturna Discordia #32
Nocturna Discordia – Names for the random groups

Impro Jam at Soda Acústic – Nocturna Discordia #32 – 1st July 2015

Discordian Records organizes Free Improvisation concerts every Wednesday at Soda and yesterday was the first jam session. The opening concert was a quartet composed by Ada Rave (ts), Nicolas Chientaroli (pn), Vasco Trilla (dr) and me, Luiz Rocha (cl).

Ada y Nico curate the Impro Jam in Amsterdan. Playing and sharing a house with them at a the Free Flow Festival in south Italy and joining some great jams in Portugal at MIA and Desterro made me feel the urge to see such a thing in Barcelona: a meeting place where free improvisers – with different backgrounds, concepts and experience, can share music and communicate.

Simple mechanism: for each performance we threw a 4 sided dice to define if the group was either a solo, a duo, a trio or a quartet; then we picked the names of the musicians out of a hat. The grand finale was El Pricto conducting an improvisation with all the musicians who wanted to join.

Will be repeated.

A big synchronicity… today (one day later) the pals from Sessions at Robadors are closing the season with a jam.

Memoria Uno @ Sala Fénix – March 4th 2015

Memoria Uno @ Sala Fénix - March 4th 2015

Memoria Uno @ Sala Fénix – March 4th 2015

photos by Elena Márquez

Iván González – conduction

Oriol Fontclara – alto sax
El Pricto – alto sax and clarinet
Tom Chant – soprano and tenor saxophones
Sergi Felipe – flute and tenor saxophone
Jordi Santanach – piccolo and tenor saxophone
Naná Rovira – bass clarinet
Luiz Rocha – bass clarinet
Alfonso Fernández – bassoon
Natsuko Sugao – trumpet
Darío García – trumpet
Aram Montagut – trumpet
Miriam Fernández – viola
Alicia Domínguez – viola
Pepi Izquierdo – viola
João Silva – violin
Paulina Violeta – violin
Clara Manjon – violoncello
Joan Antoni Pich – violoncello
Martín Meléndez – violoncello
Lina Lomanto – piano
Marc Cuevas – double bass
Àlex Reviriego – double bass
Ivo Sans – drums